I have set watchmen upon thy walls, O Jerusalem

 
I have set watchmen upon thy walls, O Jerusalem, who shall never hold their peace day or night,,,
Thus says the prophet Isaiah (chapter 62, v. 6).
 
One such watchman was David Shriki, a young Border Policeman from the town of Rishon-le-Zion, stationed in Israel’s capital. His mission was to defend the holy city and its inhabitants. On Friday night, the Sabbath eve, July 11th, he and another policeman were shot and wounded in a cowardly terrorist attack at the Lion’s Gate in Jerusalem. David, who was shot in the head, has been fighting for his life for the past two weeks. Sadly, he lost the battle. Yesterday, at Jerusalem’s Hadassah Hospital in Ein Kerem, he died of his wounds. He was nineteen years old.
May G-d avenge his blood.
 
About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I have set watchmen upon thy walls, O Jerusalem

  1. PATI says:

    Que Dieu protège sa néchama…
    C\’est si triste…. j\’avais imaginé qu\’il pourrait s\’en sortir… j\’étais certaine qu\’il s\’en sortirait…
    J\’avais prié beaucoup pour lui, et aujourd\’hui, je suis si triste….
    Et en plus, ils on recommencé… un autre bull…
    Comment faire pour que tout cela s\’arrête ?
     
     
     

  2. Patricia says:

    another tragic loss…there seems to be no end…

  3. Patricia says:

    No, I didn\’t know these things…I am so blessed to have someone tell me about them…we have what we call Arbor Day when trees are celebrated and planted…is your Tu B\’Shvat an annual celebration?…I love trees…do you know the sycamore?…another beautiful tree…
    Shalom, Shimona…Shalom, Shalom, Shalom…

  4. Patricia says:

    Shimona, I have some quotes by different people that relate to your story about the rabbi…I\’ll share them with you…
     
    Thomas Jefferson:Too old to plant trees for my own gratification, I shall do it for my posterity.
     
    Even if I knew that tomorrow the world would go to pieces,I would still plant my apple tree.
    Martin Luther (1483-1546)
     
    The true meaning of life is to plant trees,under whose shade you do not expect to sit.
    Nelson Henderson
     
    If I thought I was going to die tomorrow,I should nevertheless plant a tree today.
    Stephan Girard
     
    Someone\’s sitting in the shade today becausesomeone planted a tree a long time ago.
    Warren Buffett

  5. Word says:

    19! How tragic. If G-d does not avenge him, the IDF will.
    I too missed this sad story. Obama came to Jerusalem and there are still terroist attacks!?
    How can that be!? I\’m sure he did not visit with the family of David Shriki, just as he shunned our troops in theater.
    I\’m sure you are aware of his silence on a second Holocaust. We are working here to defeat him and give are full support to preventing Iran from "praising Allah" in their way. All The Best

Leave a Reply

