The Curious Case of the Vanishing Blog – Part 2

 
Well, as you can see, my blog module has been restored. For this, I owe a debt of gratitude to Mark, (Little Fish, Big Pond) who suggested limiting the number of blog entries visible on my space’s opening page to five, so that any old entry, with possibly corrupt code, would not be displayed. Well, I tried that – and it worked! So then, I tried increasing the number of displayed entries to ten. That, too, was all right. It was only when I increased the number of displayed entries to fifteen that the blog module on my opening page vanished once more. So I went back to ten entries on the opening page and now (touch wood), I have my blog module back again and visible on the opening page.
 
So I heartily concur with Kenny. Mark is one of the most helpful people I have met on the Internet and I warmly recommend his website, which can be found at http://homepage.ntlworld.com/m.slack1/ He’s got loads of useful and fascinating stuff there too.
And many thanks also to Kenny (see my Friends List), without whom, I would never have met Mark.
 
The logical deduction to be made is that there was some corrupt code in one of the blog entries between eleven and fifteen (going backwards from the latest) although I have absolutely no idea why the problem should not have manifested itself before now. That is not the only unanswered question, of course. Why was the blog module invisible only on the opening page, but visible when accessed from Blog Summaries? Why was the entire central column visible to Firefox users but not to Internet Explorer users? Why was the blog visible on the opening page, even using Internet Explorer, from one of the computers at work and from the computer in my eye-doctor’s waiting room, but not from my computer at home, nor from the second computer at work?
Why and why and why? A dozen unanswered questions.
This being a Microsoft Mystery, I suppose we shall never know…
 
About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Curious Case of the Vanishing Blog – Part 2

  1. Cherno says:

    woofy   woof woof….my dad said thank you for the mention.
    "sniff" "sniff"…I can smell cats 🙂   guess we all have to learn to live together. "somehow"
    Have a wonderful day.
    Cherno.
     

  2. Little Fish Big Pond says:

     
    Hi Shimona,
     
    Just popped over to have a look at your space now you\’ve got your blog entries back.
    Thanks for the kind words and the link, just glad I could help you get your blog back,
    have a great week…!!
     
    Mark
    Little Fish Big Pond
     
     

  3. Patricia says:

    Shimona, I\’m glad you have the problem worked out…so many mysteries in the world…Microsoft is a drop in the bucket…lol…hope you are having a very good week…

Leave a Reply

