Books To Listen To

 
Well, here I am, back from my all-too-short vacation in England. Did you miss me, Dear Readers?
I shall be writing more about my trip in my next blog, but for now, I want to tell you about a new website devoted to audio-books and e-books. I don’t usually promote commercial sites (well, never, actually) but I am going to make an exception to my own ironclad rule this time, because the site is owned by someone very dear to me and I want to help him get his new business started. Also, his site is unlike other commercial audiobook sites, in that it aims to help budding authors, as well as to sell books. There is one other difference as well. While other sites allow customers to review books purchased on-site, BooksToListenTo has forums where participants can discuss all aspects of literature, and these forums are open to everyone. You don’t have to be a paying customer.
 
You might be wondering – why audiobooks? Well, in London, on the Underground, I noticed how many people pass the time reading on the train. Now, I could never do that – even as a child. When I read on a train or a bus, or in a car, I get dizzy and then I get a headache. I even remember going by train to Bournemouth one summer – I must have been about nine or ten – and trying to read a newspaper, with the result that I was actually sick all over it! Just think how much easier life would be if I could just listen to a book on my MP-3 player!
And if you want the forums – just look for the picture of a quarrelling couple on the right-hand side of the page .
 
Have a nice weekend, everyone. Shabbat Shalom.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books To Listen To

  1. Patricia says:

    I can\’t read when in motion, either…get very ill…audio books is the answer for me…do have some of them…some poetry and a whole set called The Greatest Books of the World, but it\’s mostly a synopsis of the books…
    good to read you again…

Leave a Reply

