Geraniums Bloom in Autumn

 
I always love the first rains of the autumn. They have a special smell about them, a freshness that sweeps away the dust and speaks of new beginnings, a coolness after the scorching summer sun, a promise of life for a land which, when all’s said and done, lies on the edge of the desert. There is a whisper of Hope in the pattering of the raindrops on my window. Oh, I shall tire of it soon enough, when winter sets in, and there isn’t enough sunshine to warm the solar panels of my boiler and heat my water and my electricity bills start to soar. I shall hate it when it grows dark by five in the afternoon, making me feel it’s even later than it is and making me regret my decision to put in a couple of hours overtime at work. But for now, it’s all new and fresh and different.
 
And yet, autumn has a terrible sadness about it, a presentiment of death, for it is the harbinger of winter. Winter, on the other hand, bears the hope of spring ahead, just around the corner, if you will and is, for that reason, somehow less depressing. Still, the coming of shorter, colder days, has its advantages. Apart from the desperately needed rainfall (which, in my ideal world, would fall only at night, when I’m tucked up snugly in bed ), I now have an excuse to refurbish my wardrobe. (Why is it that I always seem to have some clothes which I can wear year after year, and yet items which I purchased only a few months ago no longer seem to fit me?)  Furthermore, October marks the start of the new season for the country’s cultural institutions. Although the first opera on my own subscription list is not till January, the opera season actually starts next month , and the concert season has already begun. Now that even the latecomers have returned from their vacations, choir activities are at last in full swing, with several projects ahead of us, including the Liturgica, the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra’s Festival of Liturgical Music in December in which we are to sing the Bach Magnificat and Mendelssohn’s Song of Praise (Lobgesang ). Plenty to keep us occupied till spring.
 
Oh, and one final thing. Not everything is dying. Soon (I hope) my Christmas cactus will flower (it’s capricious, so I can’t be sure). Nor will it be alone. Cyclamens also love the cold weather and I believe the one on the window-sill of my study will reward me for my devoted care. My bougainvillea is once more adding its brilliant colour to my balcony and even the winter jasmine has taken on a new lease of life. Finally, my geraniums bloom several times a year. I have even known them to survive a blanket of snow. Nor have they failed me now. With the coming of autumn, they are in bloom again.
About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Geraniums Bloom in Autumn

  1. Patricia says:

    The coming of autumn always brings a melancholy…for me, it begins in September…maybe with the beginning of the school year and the birds flocking…we\’ve already had some frosts, so my outside flowers are gone, now…my geraniums and ferns were brought inside for protection, with hope that I can keep them alive over winter…one of my Christmas cactus that was brought inside is blooming, an early bird…with them, I always seem to break off some branches when I move them, so they live their life a bit lopsided…lol…
    I hadn\’t given thought that you have pronounced seasons over there…most pictures I see are of sunshine and warmth…you\’ve corrected my sense of geography…we have had years with a skiff of snow at the end of October, one year on the 25th, but the temperature this morning is forty, so I don\’t expect any snow today…we also had temperatures in the teens this week, so Jack Frost came by for a visit…
    I hope that cactus blooms for you…they are beautiful in bloom…and enjoy your concert season…
     
     

  2. PATI says:

    L\’automne pour moi marque l\’arrivée des grands froids… les couleurs de l\’automne, les ocres, les marrons ne me conviennent pas beaucoup.. j\’aime tant le rayonnement du printemps, ou bien la chaleur de l\’été… je ne me sens pas bien en Automne.. mais il faut vivre les saisons.. passer à travers… subir….. j\’attends avec une immense impatience que le printemps et ses merveilleuses couleurs reviennent..
    Merci pour tes com Shimona. tu es si douce et si gentille…..
    Je sais qu\’en terre sainte, il existe quelques anges supplémentaires que Dieu a déposés là, pour moi…et toi tu en fais partie..
    Tu es à présent amie avec Myri.. une très grande amie à moi aussi….
    je vous aime très fort toutes les deux.
    Bises, et shabbat shalom
    Pati

  3. Patricia says:

    Just saying Hello, Shimona…have a very good week…

Leave a Reply

