Eyeless in Gaza

 
Evidently I am missing something – or else the United Nations Organization is, together with the leaders of the European Union,the refugee relief organizations and the world press.
 
Hamas rockets are once more raining down on Sderot and the other Israeli cities and settlements bordering the Gaza Strip. In retaliation, Israel has again closed the border crossings and partially halted the supply of fuel to Hamasland. I say "partially", because I understand that we are still supplying 60% of Gaza’s fuel requirements. In consequence, we are now being accused by the aforementioned organizations of causing "a humanitarian crisis" in the Gaza Strip and the Palestinians are resorting to their tried-and-true method of holding torchlit demonstrations (see my previous blog entry "The Great Gaza Fraud").
 
Can someone please explain to me what it is I am not seeing here? Correct me if I am wrong, but Gaza also shares a border with Egypt. How does the closing of the Israel-Gaza border prevent humanitarian supplies from Egypt reaching Gaza?
 
In fact, one of the following must be true. Either supplies are reaching Gaza from Egypt –  in which case, there can be no "humanitarian crisis" or Egypt too has closed and blockaded her border with Hamasland. If the latter is the case – why is Israel alone being blamed for the "humanitarian crisis"?
 
About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in News and politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eyeless in Gaza

  1. bamacatlover says:

    I appreciate the news you bring about the Holy Land , Israel.  Best regards for you safety, Sidney

  2. Patricia says:

    it\’s called "spin"…it\’s what you are expected to believe…

  3. Roy says:

    I would like to say, that the main stream media is always been off base, there so far out in left feild that they have lost there crediability they just don\’t know it yet, unfortunately some rich peaple with there own agenda think these rag tags do things justice. I for one do not believe the main stream. If my neibor had a 75 mile range weapon there would be nothing outside my boarder for 80 miles, I guess I\’m just nuts, I now isreal is capable of doing this, So I guess my comment would be that I happen to agree with you hole heartedly on this clip. and others you have writin, I am one of ELZAs friends that is how i stumbled in. I find your topics enlightening, thank you for your service. Daren

Leave a Reply

