A Promise Kept

Having promised (twice!) to post the video I filmed at the General Rehearsal for our Bach/Mendelssohn concert last month, I am finally about to fulfill that promise. Since starting this blog, I have been learning to do all sorts of things I never knew how to do before and to use software I never even knew I had – such as Windows Movie Maker. As I explained in a previous blog entry, I filmed this piece in two takes and it has taken me till now to learn the art of splicing them properly (almost ). I had assumed it would be a simple task of splicing two video clips. Imagine, then, how great was my surprise on discovering that WMM splits each clip into several smaller clips (each of them a different size and some, no more than a couple of seconds in length!).  The hardest part of all was trimming what had originally been Take #2 at the point of overlap. I’m not sure, even now, that I got it perfectly right. Another difficulty was the fact that the filming was done using a small digital camera, designed for stills and having only a limited video capability. Worse, the audio capacity is even more severely limited and there is significant distortion, especially at the loudest parts. I haven’t yet figured out a way to overcome that problem – short of buying a more sophisticated (and expensive) video camera – and any suggestions would be welcomed. That said, a promise is a promise and the film is good enough to give you a rough idea of how a concert "comes together" at a general rehearsal. So here it is.
 
 
                                
 
Enjoy it while you can. It won’t be long before I’m back to my usual polemics
 
 
 
About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Promise Kept

  1. _ Black Sand says:

    Shimona… maybe is my sofware but I can\’t see the videos…Can someone??Hugs..

  2. SHALOM says:

    shalom,j\’aime cette video,ancienne mais tellement belle!merci a vous de nous la partager.shalom.

  3. Kenneth says:

    Hello Shimona. Pleased you enjoyed the song for Sunday. The song for Monday could be the old classic "winter wonderland".We have snow here in England, we get so little snow theses days, it seems something of a novelty now.Well I am pleased you are enjoying learning new things about you space and using new software. One can have such fun discovering the amazing things that can be achieved. My mind boggles at times at just what can be created, and all from nothing it seems. The computer is such a incredible box of trix.Errrrmm…I am the same as rko, I can not see the video. "OH" well back to the drawing board for you Shimona, but I am sure you shall get it to function correctly in time. Everything is just a case of practice and then practice again. with much pulling out of hair. lolIf at first you don\’t succeed E.T.C.Best wishes, from a cold and white Yorkshire.Kenny

Leave a Reply

