There Must Be Another Way

In my last blog, I more or less promised to write about the role of the Roman Catholic Church in promoting antisemitism, and this would probably have been an appropriate time to do it, in the wake of the Pope’s visit to Israel earlier this week. However, I don’t feel in the mood for polemics at the moment, so instead, I would like to bring you Israel’s entry for the Eurovision Song Contest which takes place in Moscow tonight, together with a translation of the words. The song Your Eyes (There Must be Another Way) is performed by Achinoam Nini, (better known in Europe as Noa), who is of Yemenite Jewish origin and Mira Awad, an Israeli Arab who enjoys huge success in Israel on stage and on TV (she played Eliza Doolittle in the recent Israeli production of "My Fair Lady").
Oddly enough, despite the song’s message of peace, the duo have come under fire both from the Israeli Left and from Palestinian supporters in Europe, who claim they are covering up Israeli "atrocities" in Gaza.
There’s no satisfying some people, it seems. The song, which was chosen by an open poll of TV viewers, days after the end of Operation Cast Lead, is sung in Hebrew, Arabic and English. The translation below is a literal one, and therefore does not rhyme. I ask you, how can anyone interpret this as anything but a heartfelt prayer for peace?
 
 There must be another way!
 Your eyes, sister, say all that my heart asks for.
 We have come such a long, hard way together, hand in hand.
 And the tears fall and flow in vain, a nameless pain.
 We are only waiting for the day after.
 There must be another way!
 
 Your eyes say, a day will come
 When all the fear vanishes.
 In your eyes there is a determination
 That it is possible to continue the road,
 However long it may take,
 Because Sorrow has no single address.
 I cry to the wide spaces, to the stubborn skies –
 There must be another way!
 
 It’s a long road we will travel,
 Such a hard road, together, to the Light.
 Your eyes say, all the fear will vanish.
 And when I cry, I cry for both of us.
 My pain has no name.
 And when I cry, I cry to the merciless sky and say:
 There must be another way.
 
 There must be another way!

 Your eyes, sister, say all that my heart asks for.
 We have come such a long, hard way together, hand in hand.
 And the tears fall and flow in vain, a nameless pain.
 We are only waiting for the day after.
 There must be another way!
 
                                                 
 
 Truly, for all our sakes, there MUST be another way!                                        
 

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to There Must Be Another Way

  1. Zehava allias Pati says:

    Elles vont gagner…..;

  2. Kenneth says:

    Hello Shimona. Just popped over to wish you good luck tonight with your entry, " There must be another way" but as we all know the result is corrupt. If Israel should win, then I shall eat my hat, and if England should win, then I shall change my mind about believing in miracles :)Deep peace as always.Kenny.

  3. Shimona from the Palace says:

    I fear Kenny is right, the Eurovision results are decided by political expediency and ancient alliances (notice how the Scandinavian countries all vote for each other, likewise the Baltic nations and the former members of the Soviet Union and of what was once Yugoslavia – even though they hated each other as long as they were in union with each other). The actual quality of the song has very little to say in the matter.

  4. Pingback: Lies and Whispers Part 2: The Apartheid Myth | THE VIEW FROM THE PALACE

Leave a Reply

