Who Knows Where the Time Goes? – Part 1

 

Okay, everybody. Paws up, who knows what day it is today?

 
               
 

That’s right! It’s the 4th of July!
And who can tell me what is the significance of that momentous date?

 
               
 
Right again! It’s My Birthday!
  
                
 
 Yes! Today, I am fourteen years old. How Time flies!
 
My Human saw  fit to mark The Event by waking me before 8 o’clock in the morning to sing to me "Happy Birthday To You".
Don’t get me wrong. She has quite a nice voice – for a Human, (actually, she has a very nice voice, but it wouldn’t do for me to let her get too puffed up in her own esteem by telling her that) – but at my age, one doesn’t want to be woken up at such an ungodly hour on a Saturday morning to be sung to. And then, to make matters worse, Pixie was sick on the bed. It’s lucky our Human witnessed that, she usually attributes all the vomiting in inconvenient places to Yours Truly.
However, she made up for her faux pas (the Human, I mean) by letting me choose my own breakfast. There was quite a dizzying array of delicacies to choose from. She set out all the tins in a row and asked me which I preferred. How was I to decide? Should I go for the salmon and shrimp? Or maybe the rabbit and turkey? Then, again, would not liver and duck make a suitable Birthday Breakfast? But that would mean foregoing the chicken and turkey… Oh dear, it was enough to make a poor kitty’s head spin! In the end, I went for the tuna and cod. I’m not sure that was the best choice and given a little longer, I might have plumped for something else, but as soon as she saw me go back three times to the same tin, she concluded that I had made my choice.
Well, I had, of course…
 
After breakfast, I curled up next to her, while she stroked and petted me and told me what a beautiful pussycat I am.
She’s right.
Looking in that silver glass thingy that stretches from wall to wall in her bedroom, I have to admit, I am a Fine Figure of a Cat. However, when you get to be my age, it’s nice to be reassured about that sometimes. And to know that She still loves me, as much as I love her and that in her eyes, I am – and always will be –
 
                          Possum the MagnifiCat.
 
PS. To my millions of friends and admirers in the United States who are celebrating My Birthday with me, I want to say Thank You and have a wonderful day yourselves. I understand you also have something to celebrate.
About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Pets. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Who Knows Where the Time Goes? – Part 1

  1. Kenneth says:

    Happy Birthday… Possum the Magnificat. 14 years old today. That is a grand age to achieve and here is to many more :)Guess you have figured out by now that life is not a bed of Roses. We should be thankful though, that the thorn bush has roses on it !!!

  2. Cherno says:

    Have a great day Possum. lucky you, you get to sleep on the bed. Kenny won\’t let me upstairs, never mind sleep on the bed 😦

  3. Rambling says:

    I loved this! I am still smiling— and Possum, you beautiful gorgeous girl, Happy Birthday. Many many more. We here have turned everything upside down celebrating this wondrous day. Your beauty and wisdom are known well throughout this Land. And my dear, opt for the liver and duck this evening. You deserve it. =^..*=Pets and kissies,Me and Her

  4. Shimona from the Palace says:

    Thank you for your birthday wishes. However, I feel it incumbent upon me to point out that I am not a Girl!I am, despite (ahem) having had to undergo a rather embarrassing operation in my youth, a Boy.I would be offended but no doubt it is my excessive Good Looks (greater than those of any Female I know) which have misled you. I trust you will no longer fall into such a grievous error!Possum the MagnifiCat

  5. Cherno says:

    I bet your longevity is because your human does not give you Coke-cola to drink. 😉 sorry to read about your operation.

  6. Mes Zanimaux says:

    Happy birthday Possum !!!! I have done well to come visit you today.You have a beautiful age. My Feline comes to thirteen years… Thirteen years of happiness !Hi Shimona ! In Lyon this morning it was 25.5 ° to 9.30. It\’s very heavy and cats have very hot. I wet cats with a brumiseur regularly to refresh a little. I see that you gave the floor to Possum. I\’m sure he appreciates and has many things to say ;-)) My Zazoues are very talkative but I lack of time at the moment…Big kiss for you my Friend and hugs for Possum and Pixie

  7. Lori BJ says:

    Happy Birthday Possum!!!!

  8. GreatGranny says:

    Oh Possum, you have made my day and I\’m sorry I missed your birthday. It was my human\’s fault, of course. You are a handsome boy with a regal look. A belated Happy Birthday ! Your admirer, Kassey

Leave a Reply

