Simple Pleasures

I have just spent one of the most enjoyable evenings I’ve had in a long while. I had my sister Naomi round for tea with her two sons (my brother-in-law, unfortunately, was busy and couldn’t join us) and after tea, we played Quelf. For those of you who’ve never heard of it, this is a board game for all the family, where you move around the board by throwing dice, picking up colour-coded cards, depending on the colour of the square you land on. There are Roolz (rules) cards, action cards, quiz cards and so on. You have to follow the instructions on the cards – which include anything from breathing like Darth Vader and mumbling about the Dark Side every time your opponent has his turn, to casting the dice from a distance of 5 feet from the table or speaking like an angry Gnome who has just burnt the cookies until you get another card that releases you. Or you might have to choose between giving the scientific names for body parts, whilst pointing at them, to giving the slang names for said parts. I got that one and in the interests of decency, chose the scientific names. That meant going round the table until someone failed to give the requisite scientific name whilst pointing at a body part. I was actually quite surprised at how knowledgeable my nephews are! Naomi missed out on a question about the order of the planets from the sun. I tripped up on a question about who was NOT, at one time, married to Liz Taylor. I was, however, quite pleased with my hitherto unsuspected ability to hum a recognizable tune whilst marching on the spot, rolling my eyes and touching my knees all the time!

How much more fun this was than sprawling in front of the TV, or sitting hunched up before the computer screen living our virtual lives as we do in Farmville, Yoville or any other of the dozens of so-called "interactive" computer games modern society is addicted to. As Naomi and the boys were leaving, everyone felt we must do this again soon. It needn’t necessarily be Quelf – although that was a riot! Next time, maybe we could try Scrabble or Monopoly or Cluedo. Whatever we choose, I now firmly believe that the family that plays together, stays together.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simple Pleasures

  1. lenak1 says:

    i am so happy that \’a good time was had by all\’ and share your hope that you will do this at frequent regular intervals.abba

  2. Tricia says:

    Quelf sounds hilarious!! My family have always played games together, particularly when on holiday and I\’ll look out for this …. and I so agree with you that playing together brings everyone together …. TV is such a conversation killer!!!

Leave a Reply

