Little Green Miracles

Have you ever considered how, each and every day, tiny miracles are taking place, almost unnoticed, right under your nose?
How often do we take the time to pause and wonder at the sheer beauty of Creation?
Today, Tu B’Shvat, the New Year for Trees, is a fitting time to do so.

This morning, I stepped onto my balcony to put out a bowl of fresh water for Possum and Pixie and I noticed tiny green shoots, which certainly had not been there the day before, pushing their way up through the soil of one of my flower pots. I had almost given up this hyacinth as lost – yet its sister, on my bathroom window-sill, was also displaying signs of rebirth. Meanwhile, one of my orchids had produced not one but two new sprigs, covered with buds, which had already grown to the height of several inches without my noticing, even though I water all my houseplants every few days!

I can’t explain it, but the miracle of new life always brings tears of joy to my eyes, whether it’s the birth of a baby or the burst of green from tree and soil that heralds the coming of Spring and makes me glad to be alive.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Nature. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Little Green Miracles

  1. rambling1on says:

    Then we are similar in that manner. And another reason why I waxed rhapsodic last Spring when my first tomato plant bore the infant tomatoes. It’s a true miracle.

  2. First, I’m glad to see you here. And it’s always exciting to see the new rebirth of life in plants heralding Spring.

  3. impattymac says:

    a true gardener, Shimona…even if it is on a balcony…I’m always excited to see the first signs of growth in the spring…so look forward to it this year…

Leave a Reply

