The Gift of Life

I sometimes wonder how I would react if I were to discover that I had only a short time to live. I doubt if I would be as brave as fifteen year old Alice Pyne, from the north of England, whose blog I stumbled upon quite by chance, last night. Alice has been battling Hodgkin’s Lymphoma for four years already but now, she writes, “It doesn’t look like I’m going to win this one. The cancer is spreading through my body.”

Encouraged by her mother, Alice has prepared a “bucket list” of things she wants to accomplish before she “has to go”, as she bravely puts it. Many of them are really quite simple things, such as entering her dog in a regional show, or staying in a caravan and the list is actually headed by a desire to make everyone sign up to be bone marrow donors.

I tell you – I read Alice’s blog and I just broke down and wept. What gives this young girl the courage to face her own imminent death so bravely? And don’t say “faith in God” – because nowhere does she mention God. The support of her family surely plays a part in it, especially her mother and her younger sister, who is taking part in a sponsored run for Cancer Research this weekend. But I think there must be something special inside Alice herself. I wish I had half the courage she has.

Sometimes, it’s the people who seem most ordinary, who are actually the most inspirational. Alice is one of them.

 

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Gift of Life

  1. Pat says:

    Shimona, I think Alice does have something special inside her, but I always thought you did, too…you have the courage to write about some very controversial things from a point of view that isn’t very popular right now…I stand by you, Shimona…

Leave a Reply

