Praying for Pixie

Amid all the earth-shattering events that seem to be happening right now, I don’t suppose most people would think the life of a little cat is of much significance. But Pixie matters to me, she is my baby and has been since she came to me, at only a few weeks old, sixteen years ago. Now she is old and sick, the vet says she has Stage 3 kidney disease (out of 4 stages) and is unlikely to live more than a few months. There is no cure – only treatment to improve the quality of life in the time that remains to her. I know that when she reaches Stage 4, it will be time to let go – but it’s hard, so very hard.

I don’t think I can write any more just now. I know I have some good friends out there who have known Pixie (and her brother Possum) for a good few years now. I  ask them all to pray for her.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Pets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Praying for Pixie

  1. I am so sorry to hear of this. I will pass it along to my friends on blogger. And I will be praying for Pixie. Our fur babies are precious and a gift from God, I believe.

  2. Thank you so much for your prayers. Pixie is home now, after being at the vet’s surgery all afternoon, where she received an infusion. Tomorrow, I have to take her back for another infusion. My poor baby – it’s all so traumatic for her.

  3. Purrrrrrring for Pixie. We all hope she lives well, for as much longer as she has.

  4. Silke says:

    in retrospect I’d say I have waited too long with each and every one of them

    But while I was in it with them rejoicing of every bit of food I got into them it didn’t feel like that.

    Whatever you’ll decide, it’ll be the right thing.

  5. Just looking for updates on Pixie, with love and concern.
    I’ve been trying to find the ‘http://j-cats.blogspot. com’, but no luck yet.
    The Admiral’s Mom gave it to me. I’ll keep trying.
    I can only imagine how you must be feeling and I’m so sorry.

  6. Admiral Hestorb says:

    I have only just realized that Pixie had kidney disease That is how my 16 year old Robin passed away. It is tragic and one of the most difficult things to let our babies go when they need to. My heart is with you and Possum and Pixie too. I have tears just writing this as Iknow how acutely it hurts.

Leave a Reply

