Update on the Furbabies

Pixie spent the day at the vet’s again. He said she didn’t eat anything all day,  even though he opened a tin of Fancy Feast for her.

Possum has been refusing his dry foods (though he certainly fell to with a will when offered Fancy Feast) and what with that and the fact that my cleaning lady thought that he, too, was getting thin, I decided to take him also for a check-up today. He wouldn’t cooperate and so, had to be sedated for his blood tests. I was desperately worried about him – but the vet said he can’t find anything wrong with him that would explain a loss of appetite and that it’s no wonder he turns up his nose at dry foods since I’ve been giving him Fancy Feast every day ( just a dollop a day – no more than about 20 grams). Also, he said that Possum is just at the beginning of Stage 1 kidney disease, but that this is hardly surprising in a cat of his age (16 years). All in all, Possum is more likely to succumb to Old Age before he succumbs to the illness (not that that’s any comfort). So I’ve got to stop spoiling him with Fancy Feast – I may give him about half a can on Shabbat, but no more because the high protein content is not good for him.

Possum is not going to like that.

But Pixie is another story. As I mentioned, the vet said she refused to eat all day. This was her second day on liquid infusions. Tomorrow, I have to bring her back again for another infusion and then the vet will do more blood tests. If the condition of her kidneys has improved, then we can start to think about a special dietary regime for her. If not …..

I can’t bear to think of “if not”. But, this evening, I offered her a bowl of Fancy Feast (the vet said that for these few evenings, I can give her whatever she likes, just as long as she eats something) and she did eat quite a lot. So, maybe the black despair which overcame me on the way home from the vet’s was premature. Abba said not to give up on them too easily.

Despite the vet’s not being able to find anything wrong with Possum, I still worry about him too. So please, everyone, continue to pray for my furry babies. Thank you.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Pets, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Update on the Furbabies

  1. I am thankful you’ve still got Pixie and Possum as well. They are still in my thoughts and prayers.
    All out fur babies are spoiled. I’m having the ‘drinking water’ thing going on here. She refuses her fountain and hates her stainless steal bowl. I seldom give her Fancy Feast, but sardines every now and then. She is terribly spoiled, but we love them and give in. Please remember you’re not alone in this. I hope for good results for Pixie and her brother who is probably worried about her.
    This may hinder his appetite.

  2. Admiral Hestorb says:

    ALSO: There are such things as appetite stimulants for felines. PLEASE ask the Vet about these? One is given every three days. Steroids also help. That’s why Admiral takes them otherwise she will not eat.

  3. I remember the Admiral had to take appetite stimulants and I will ask the vet about these when I go back on Sunday – if the blood tests show further improvement. But didn’t it reach a stage when she started eating again of her own accord?

Leave a Reply

