The City in White

The snow has come!

I awoke to the news that snow was falling heavily in Jerusalem. I rushed to the window – not before turning on the heating and wrapping myself up well in my dressing-gown, and an extra fleece jacket on top of that – and found a world carpeted in white.

S/W Ver: 85.98.70R S/W Ver: 85.98.70R

Naturally, Trixie followed me, all agog to see this new wonder, something quite unknown to her.

P1010745

As always when it snows, I found myself confronted with the usual dilemma – to brave the cold and go out with my camera, or to stay indoors where it is (relatively) warm and miss all the fun – not to mention a golden (white?) photo opportunity.

Being rather fond of my creature comforts, I was glad to realise,  just in time, that my lovely little Panasonic Lumix TZ-10 would enable me to capture some splendid shots from the comparative warmth and safety of my own apartment:

P1010750

P1010741

P1010747

P1010749

The zoom lens even made it possible to capture the slopes of Herodium (or Herodion), a fortress built by Herod the Great and reputed to be the place of his burial.

P1010739

Here it is again, with the zoom set to maximum (x20):

P1010740

As I was writing this blog, the sun came out for a while, instilling hope in my breast that the road to Tel Aviv might be fully open by this afternoon, enabling me to travel down to “the Big Orange”, where I have tickets for the opera this evening. In this Verdi Bicentenary Year, tonight’s offering is Luisa Miller. I’ll have to set out early.

Oh-oh! The sky is clouding over again :-(. I wonder if I’ll make it…

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Photography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The City in White

  1. David says:

    Good luck with the opera. If you make it to TA, you should treat yourself to an overnight stay in a hotel there. That way you don’t have to travel back late at night in the snow, wondering if you’re going to make it.

    • Memories of Brighton? 😉

    • Silke says:

      very good advice !!!

      if at all possible I’d upgrade it to use public transport + taxi

      alone in a car with temperatures newly below zero or even worse dancing around zero can easily turn into a free for surprises of all kinds adventure trip a kind of real life opera – OK at times but not very compatible with opera house opera me thinks 😉

      • @Silke and @David – All’s well. I survived the trip 😉 – and I’m safely home. In fact – well, I’ll tell you all about it in my next blog :-).

      • Silke says:

        Shimona
        you must have some supernatural powers I don’t like at all – you must have infected my piece of the globe … today it’s snowing like mad – I’ll never talk to you about nasty weather again 😉

        Glad to learn that you are well and that so far except for the screen going AWOL nothing nasty has happened to you.

      • @Silke – My late aunt used to claim she was a witch. Maybe I’ve inherited her powers. That must be the real reason my brother keeps telling me I remind him of Hermione Granger 😉

      • Silke says:

        today you did it again – that’s more than enough for one winter already – bewitch someplace else from now on please

        BTW what happened to or during the Luisa Miller outing?

      • @Silke – Ooops. Sorry….

        “what happened to or during the Luisa Miller outing?”
        See my next post 🙂

  2. David says:

    I TOLD you about that?

  3. Pingback: The Show’s Not Over Till The Fat Lady Sings | THE VIEW FROM THE PALACE

  4. Suzette E. Hays says:

    Winters are very wet, with nearly all of Jerusalem’s annual 590 mm (23 in) of precipitation occurring between October and April. The coldest month is January, with an average high of 12°C (53°F) and an average low of 4°C (39°F). Sub-freezing temperatures are not an everyday occurrence, but do happen, and the city will get occasional snowfall during the winter, though it usually only lasts a matter of hours rather than days. However, every once in a while the city will experience significant accumulating snow.

Leave a Reply

