The Best Laid Plans…..

I hadn’t planned on blogging again till tomorrow, at which time, I had hoped to be able to write about the quiet Sabbath we had enjoyed in Jerusalem.

By early evening, however, it was clear that much of the rest of the country – including Tel Aviv, but especially the south – had been under a more or less continuous barrage of rockets all day. Indeed, the attacks are continuing, even as I type these words.

It’s been very hot all day. Even now, after sundown, it’s still 30 degrees C.  At about two minutes to seven, just as I was on my way to the kitchen to prepare myself a much-needed iced coffee, the dreadful wailing of the sirens began again. I’ve heard that in some places, the citizens are complaining that the sirens don’t work properly, and they have difficulty hearing them. But in my neighbourhood, they can be heard loud and clear.

Everyone knows what to do. Although I worry terribly about my three cats, there was no time to search for them. I snatched up my mobile phone and went quickly down to the shelter, locking the door of my apartment behind me and wondering how come there were so many more people on the stairwell this time (on the previous two occasions, only half a dozen or so neighbours joined me in the shelter). I guess more people were home, this being a late Shabbat afternoon. In fact, I started to worry about the “traffic jam” on the staircase, counting to myself all the time, ever mindful of the fact that, in Jerusalem, we have just one and half minutes from the time of the first warning, to reach the bomb shelter or secure room. But in Jerusalem, we’re relatively lucky in that respect. In Sderot, which has been targeted for years by Hamas rockets, they have only 15  SECONDS. And in the kibbutzim and moshavim of the area known as “Otef Aza” (the “Gaza Envelope”, the area right on the Gaza Strip border), they have no time at all.

After about 6 minutes, someone said it was safe to emerge, because the missiles had already fallen. According to him, they had fallen in Hebron (which is in the so-called “Palestinian Territories”).  I don’t know how he could have known that so soon, but it seems he was right. One fell in Hebron and damaged a house and one fell in Bethlehem.  I am tempted to say something I probably should not say. Very well. I will hold my tongue.

Ever cautious, I waited a couple of minutes more before returning to my apartment. And turned on the computer.
And began to blog.

Even as I write, I am hearing about further attacks, in real time. Just two minutes ago, there was another Code Red alert (not the first today) in Ashkelon, where my aunt lives.

And so it continues. Several times every hour. More and more rockets.

No Catherine Wheels   😉

However, as Israel’s response to the rocket attacks intensifies, I think we can expect an attack of the Catherine Ashtons…

 

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, International Relations, News, Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Best Laid Plans…..

  1. Chrissie says:

    I’m glad you’re safe! I’m following your posts and so appreciate how you detail what’s happening. I’m praying for your safety, my friend, and that of all Israel.

  2. Chrissie says:

    He is, Shimona…and just as full of himself as he ever was. At the moment, he bears me company on the footrest, shoulders hunched and ears aslant in protest of the anti-flea liquid I’ve applied between his shoulder blades. Since he remains inside always, I asked him, rhetorically, how on EARTH he could have acquired fleas?! He did not reply, of course, but I’m wondering about his nocturnal activities. Perhaps I need to install a nannycat-cam, eh? I read your above post to my daughter last night, and we both reacted to the thought of your flights to the shelter without the fur beasties with dismay. I’ve often thought of a tornado warning (we live in Tornado Alley here in the U.S.) and rushing to the cellar-I’m not sure I could FIND the cats with the siren going off and we rushing about in a panic. Do yours hide under the furniture?

    • They hide under the furniture, and on top of the kitchen cupboards and in the wardrobe and on the higher shelves of the book-cases and behind the television …..You name it! I’m sure they have a few more hidey-holes I haven’t yet discovered.

      How old is Angus Mhor now?

  3. Mary says:

    Will it ever end?After the war of November 2012 nothing changed and everytime hundreds of Palestinians get killed..I guess it’s because they are human shields

  4. Rick Bailey says:

    I can’t imagine what it is like to live in a place that is subject to rocket attacks. Israel’s response is completely reasonable – how do you stand by and do nothing when your nation is under attack? How do you impact an enemy that uses it’s own people as shields, and then criticizes you for “collateral damage” in the civilian population?

  5. Pingback: And The Ceasefire That Was – Sort Of… | THE VIEW FROM THE PALACE

Leave a Reply

