And The Ceasefire That Was – Sort Of…

Okay. This is the situation. We are now four hours into a ceasefire that was supposed to start at 10 am and end at 3 pm. This is what is described as a “ceasefire for humanitarian purposes”, proposed by the UN emissary to the Middle East – in order to allow the residents of Gaza to get to hospitals for medical attention, if necessary, or to stock up on essential supplies. By “essential supplies”, I assume they mean food and so on – although, for Hamas, I wouldn’t be surprised if that definition includes ammunition. In addition, there are constant news reports hinting that there might be a more comprehensive ceasefire from 6 am tomorrow morning.

Despite heavy rocket bombardment of most of the rest of the country, including the nearby town of Beit Shemesh at about 2 o’clock this morning, Jerusalem hasn’t been targeted since Shabbat evening. I have no idea how long our luck will hold out. Whenever I take a shower, for example, it is with a feeling of trepidation. Suppose the warning sirens go while I’m washing my hair. I’m not sure I’d even hear them.

So, despite knowing that Hamas has already broken the ceasefire, by firing a barrage of rockets at the Eshkol Region in the North-Western Negev round about noon (two hours into the ceasefire), I took the opportunity to shower and wash my hair.

Hell, I’ve got a party to go to this evening. It’s my choir’s end of the year party. And, as all my regular readers know, the Jerusalem Oratorio Choir is more than just a hobby. It’s a way of life 🙂

And  – “in spite of all terror” (to borrow a phrase from Churchill) – life must go on.

 

********

UPDATE: I returned from the party at about 10:30 pm and of course, the first thing I did was to turn on the television – to be greeted by the news that the IDF ground operation has begun. I am too tired to blog about it now. That will have to wait till tomorrow. Meanwhile – let us pray for the safety and well-being of our soldiers, and the success of their mission.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, News, Politics, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

