Way Too Close For Comfort

I had intended to update my readers about yesterday’s Arab terrorist attacks, which included several stabbing sprees, one of them by two teenage terrorists, who went on a knife rampage in the Jerusalem neighbourhood of Pisgat Zeev, seriously wounding a young man in his twenties. They then fell like beasts of prey on a 13-year-old Jewish boy who was innocently riding his bicycle, stabbing him over a dozen times, before being neutralised. One of the terrorist thugs was killed and the second was seriously wounded. These two wild beasts were aged only 15 and 13. No doubt the European and other foreign media will headline the story (as they usually do) “Palestinian child killed by Israeli forces after Jerusalem attack”. After all, Mahmoud Abbas (Abu Mazen) is already calling the killing of the older terrorist an “execution

Meanwhile, the 13-year-old Jewish child whom they tried to murder is still in serious condition, (as is the older victim) despite the stabilisation of his condition, following apparently successful surgery performed by the devoted surgical team at the Hadassah Mount Scopus Hospital, including Head of General Surgery Prof. Ahmed Eid (who, as you have probably guessed from his name, is an Arab – because hey! Naturally the Head of Surgery in a leading Israeli hospital would be an Arab, Israel being, don’t you know, an apartheid state and all that…)

As I said, I had intended to give you all a detailed update on yesterday’s attacks, but before I could sit down at my computer, the air was riven by the wailing of sirens and a procession of police cars and ambulances began streaming into the Jerusalem neighbourhood of East Talpiot (Armon Hanatziv), where I live. Instinctively, I turned on the television and the radio and also began scanning cyberspace to find out what was happening.
And what was happening was unnerving. Two Arab terrorists, armed with a gun and knives, had carried out an attack on the #78 bus which runs through the neighbourhood, leaving two dead and 22 wounded. This occurred just after the bus stop right across the road from my old apartment, thirty metres away from what used to be, till last year, my study window. In fact, if I hadn’t decided to postpone my weekly shopping at the neighbourhood supermarket till tomorrow, and write my blog today instead, I would have been on that bus.

And as if that wasn’t enough, in other Arab terrorist attacks today, an Arab employee of the Israeli Bezeq Communications Company carried out a deadly attack on a group of Jews waiting at a bus stop in Malchei Yisrael Street in Jerusalem, ramming his work vehicle into the bus stop, killing one and seriously wounding two more. He then got out of his car and proceeded to stab his victims.
You see the horror here? In the current climate, one tends to be wary of passing cars, but who would suspect a Bezeq van or its driver?

Nor was Jerusalem the only scene of Arab terrorism this morning. In two separate attacks in the town of Ra’anana, five people were wounded. One of them is said to be in critical condition.

At the time of writing this post, I still do not know the names of the victims and so I do not know yet if they include anyone I know.

I have always agreed with Albert Schweitzer, that there are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world – music and cats. I have three cats. And this evening, I have choir practice – a rehearsal for this coming Friday’s lunchtime performance, in Haifa, of Leonard Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, together with the Haifa Symphony Orchestra.

Only – I am almost afraid to leave the house.

But I will. Because if we shut ourselves up in our homes, the terrorists will have won.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, News and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Way Too Close For Comfort

  1. ShimonZ says:

    Dear Shimona, we who love Jerusalem can only grieve on a day like this… grieve for the dead, and for the living who cling to hopes and ideals in the face of never ending hatred that we just can’t understand. This post of yours tells the story so well. My heart is broken with despair, and I find no consolation… how could I possibly try to console you. But thanks for your words after I have been struck dumb.

  2. Ian G says:

    I promised you my prayers and you got them. I consider myself a Christian Zionist and I pray for the Peace of Jerusalem and all Israel. I shall be with friends tonight and we will pray again. There is something of a media blackout, as you know. I do what I can to let the truth be known. Your accounts are valuable precisely because you are not a journalist and just someone who blogs and lives in Jerusalem. Every Blessing

  3. Carolyn R says:

    I have been keeping up with the news from Israel, as I always do, by reading the Israeli press reports. I echo what is said by ShimonZ, there are really no words to describe how I feel about how these atrocities and how they are reported in the western press, particularly the UK! There is an attitude of “they had it coming to them” which is almost universal! I can only pray for your safety, Shimona, and for the peace of Jerusalem as I always do. x

  4. mysending says:

    You are absolutely right that you can’t give in, but oh how difficult that is! Stay strong!

  5. We have the same problem here in Germany, may I say Europe in general, as mentioned by Ian G. above: there are no reports about these atrocities. Only when you find a Jewish site like this blog or the IDF for example can you truly learn about what is happening. This is most disturbing in my opinion. It seems to me that when the topic “Israel” is being debated, most people as well as media kind of switch off their brain lobe for reason and logic. I do hope that this wave of extreme and brutal attacks will find an end very soon. Something must happen.

  6. Mags says:

    Prayers for all to be safe and all of the attacks end. My heart goes out to everyone there and you are daily in my thoughts and prayers. Hugs and blessings

  7. Ian G says:

    Do, please, keep us updated. If not a post, just something to let us know that you are safe and well.

  8. Pingback: Cry Havoc | THE VIEW FROM THE PALACE

  9. Pingback: My Favourite Things | THE VIEW FROM THE PALACE

Leave a Reply

