An Ocean Of Tears

Sarah Techiya Litman and Ariel Bigel engagement

 

This is a picture of  Sarah-Techiya Litman and her fiancé, Ariel Biegel, at their engagement party. They were to have been married this evening. That wedding will not now take place – not tonight, at any rate – for tonight, the bride is in mourning for her father, Rabbi Ya’akov Litman (HY”D), and her brother, 18-year-old Netanel Litman (HY”D), gunned down by “Palestinian” terrorists near Otniel on Highway 60, south of Hebron, last Friday afternoon.

You probably won’t have heard about the murders of Ya’akov and Netanel Litman (May God Avenge Their Blood), possibly because the news was so quickly overshadowed by the tragic events taking place in Paris only hours later – or possibly because, even if cowardly Islamist terrorists had not chosen that same evening to carry out their satanic attacks in the French capital, the western media would not have considered the shedding of Jewish blood in the Jewish homeland as sufficiently newsworthy to warrant their attention. After all, the Jewish victims didn’t manage to get off a shot before they died and wound, or perhaps kill their attackers, which would have enabled the western media to publish yet another headline screaming: “ISRAELI SETTLERS SHOOT PALESTINIAN”. That might have rendered the story newsworthy in their eyes.

So you won’t have heard how the terrorists, who lay in wait and ambushed the Litmans’ car near the Arab village of Dura, also wounded Sarah-Techiya’s mother and another of her brothers, and traumatised her little sisters, the youngest of whom is only five years old.
You won’t have heard how the wounded Netanel called the emergency services and how the terrorists approached the car and shot him again, to ensure his death.
You won’t have heard how the first “rescue” vehicle on the scene was a Palestinian Red Crescent Society ambulance, which slowed down, realised that these were Jews lying in their own blood on the road, and then drove on, leaving them to their fate – in stark contrast to Israel’s Magen David Adom (Red Magen David) which, on more than one occasion, has drawn flack from some  Israelis for treating wounded terrorists before their victims, if the terrorists’ injuries were more serious.

Israel has filed a complaint with the International Committee of the Red Cross over the behaviour of the PRCS ambulance crew. It will be interesting to see how the ICRC deals with the matter – given the fact that, for decades, they refused to accord recognition to Magen David Adom, while recognising the Red Crescent of the Muslim countries.

Now, you might have expected that the leaders of the western world would by now have made the connection between the terrorist campaign against the only non-Muslim state in the Middle East, by murderous thugs driven to kill Jews by the vicious and relentless incitement of Muslim leaders who have been telling them, over and over again (without any basis in fact) that “the Jews” are trying to destroy the Al-Aqsa Mosque, and the heinous crimes of Muslim terrorists in Paris. And, in fact, some of them did – but not in the way any normal, decent person would expect.
No, it isn’t Islamic extremism – at least, not according to Sweden’s Foreign Minister, Margot Wallström. In her opinion, the Paris attacks (in which not a single “Palestinian” was involved, as far as we know, and which ISIS, who has claimed responsibility for the attacks, has justified as being payback for French actions in Syria) can be attributed to “Palestinian” despair at the lack of hope for the future!

It makes me so angry, I want to scream – and, despite what I have written in my last two posts, I am finding it very difficult to find some little thing in which to rejoice, in order to help me through the ocean of tears I feel at the loss of two more Jewish lives last Friday, simply for the crime of being Jewish.

And yet, perhaps I should take comfort in the strength of Sara-Techiya Litman and her family, who have decided to hold the wedding anyway, next Thursday and who have invited the whole House of Israel to celebrate it with them. It is, after all, a mitzvah, a meritorious deed, to gladden the bride and groom.
What better way to show the terrorists  that whatever they throw at us, they cannot win, and that, in spite of all terror, “Yet again shall be heard, in the cities of Judah and in the streets of Jerusalem, the voice of joy and the voice of gladness, the voice of the bridegroom and the voice of the bride”?

 

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, News, Politics, Religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to An Ocean Of Tears

  1. It’s overwhelmingly sad.

  2. This is why I like the present Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu so much. He does not care what the world thinks, because others do not think straight anyway when it comes to the Jewish situation in Israel. Benjamin Netanyahu just does what is best for the country and the people since it is the only thing that matters. The actual events are very disturbing and I can assure you that Europe remains as blind as ever and does not see the slightest common point between Palestinians and the muslim attacks. Unfortunately.

    • Europe does remain blind, and I suspect that it is wilful blindness – “There’s none so blind as he who will not see.”
      What I do not know is, how much of the blindness of European leaders is shared by the ordinary people.

      • Unfortunately they are the same, at least in Germany for sure, but it seems to be valid for all of Europe. On one hand they blame muslim terrorists, on the other hand and almost at the same time, they blame the Jewish people for keeping “Palestinian territories”. The people on the street here just do not understand the mechanisms of the stituation at all.

      • The people on the street don’t understand because they are kept in the dark by the media, whose deliberately biased and distorted presentation of the facts can, in my opinion, be based on one thing only – sheer antisemitism.

  3. Carolyn R says:

    I had read about this, but not in the main media! Regarding the person in the street in Europe, I suspect they don’t think. They just react! So they are generally ignorant and ill-informed and uncaring until they see a picture in the press or on TV! It’s media manipulation of the masses!

  4. Pingback: The Good, the Bad, the Ugly – and the Beautiful | THE VIEW FROM THE PALACE

  5. Katherine says:

    At the moment everyone here is most concerned about whether the UK should begin a war against Syria.In particular by bombing it.I am sorry to tell you it is not deliberate anti-Semitism,it is just you are a very small country and there are many other countries suffering.The decision about going to war and trying to destroy ISIS will be very important and may help or hinder you.On the face of it most people think you are occupying Palestinian lands and that is why they are attacking you.I suppose just getting through the day is all many of us can do.I miss my husband as he was very good at interpreting politics and history.I spent most of my life doing maths which is too limited.I am afraid that I don’t know enough and lack judgment in some of these affairs.I know how terrible it is to lose someone but I don’t like that phrase,May God avenge their blood.People here say it sounds like how the Jews were in what they call The Old Testament.If I were a Jew I’d be an agnostic.God is not an avenger it seems judging by European history.I was glad to see the wedding post.My sympathy.

    • “I don’t like that phrase,May God avenge their blood.People here say it sounds like how the Jews were in what they call The Old Testament.”

      I suggest you check the New Testament. You’ll find it’s no different: “Vengeance is mine; I will repay” (Romans 12: 19).

      In both cases, it means Man should not be vengeful, but should leave vengeance to God.

      BTW – a war against ISIS is not a war against Syria. The Syrian government, and most of the Syrian people, are against ISIS. ISIS wants to replace Syria (and the entire Middle East – and not only the Middle East) with a worldwide Islamic Caliphate.

      “most people think you are occupying Palestinian lands and that is why they are attacking you.”

      The IRA carried out a terror campaign on the British mainland, because they considered Northern Ireland to be occupied by the British. I don’t recall the rest of the world being so forgiving of Irish terrorism, do you?
      The Turks are illegally occupying northern Cyprus. Yet the Greek Cypriots aren’t carrying out terrorist acts against Turkish civilians, are they?
      The Chinese are occupying Tibet – also illegally. I don’t see the Tibetans stabbing, shooting and ramming cars into Chinese women and children, do you?

      • I know.Do people think that you should be better because of the religion?People say to me how can Israelis do this and I say,suffering does not ennoble people and who else has been persecuted viciously for 2,000 years?And they needed to have less suffering by having their own home.I said before that the Catholic church has only recently removed anti Semitic sentences from the prayer book.I no longer think I am a Christian in the traditional way.

  6. Katherine says:

    Sorry about the spelling

  7. OK,I see what you mean.Most countries have their phrases which they say at these times or when someone is bereaved.That’s my difficulty.Getting to know the culture better.I have a friend from Israel and she says I have to order her to make me a cup of tea.Then she gets talking and forgets,contradicts me in a way I’d not do… but now I’ve known her 6 years I am understanding better

  8. I know about ISIS and we had a knife attack here last night in a tube station.London is so big it’s frightening but I hardly go out.I suppose as you know English and Hebrew you can translate really well.
    Some problems even in mathematics can’t be solved except by moving to another level.Did you visit my blog?I put some Jewish singing on tonight.

    • I visited your blog. Yes, I liked the singing. The song itself isn’t particularly Jewish, although the band is. I googled them. If you enjoyed that, I suggest you check out another group on YouTube – the Maccabeats.

      Of course we heard here about the terrorist attack at the Leytonstone Tube Station. It was on the news.

      • I loved their voices and I put it on a bereavement website where some women say they liked it very much.Singing, as you know, can help us especially if we can actually do it ourselves,Hope you enjoy the holiday very much.

Leave a Reply

