Shana Tova

I had hoped to be able to post about my trip to England last month but it’s taking longer than expected to choose and edit the many photos and write about all that I managed to see and do in ten short days. Before I knew it, the High Holy Days were – are – upon us. Rosh Hashana – the Jewish New Year – starts this evening at sundown.

So this is a very brief post, just to wish all those of you who are celebrating Rosh Hashana – לשנה טובה תכתיבו ותחתימו – Leshana tova tichatevu vetichatevu – May you be inscribed and sealed for a good year.

By a curious coincidence – well, not really so curious, if you remember that both Jews and Muslims use a lunar calendar – today marks the start of a new Islamic year as well, so I would like also to offer New Year’s greetings to my Muslim friends (yes, I do have some!)

I will leave you with the traditional Jewish prayer for the High Holy Days, with the lyrics of which, I believe we can all of us, Jew, Christian and Muslim, identify.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Religion, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shana Tova

  1. pilch92 says:

    Shana Tova! That is a beautiful song you shared with us.

  2. Ian G says:

    Copied and pasted to my Facebook page. Shana Tova.

  3. Carolyn R says:

    Shana Tova, Shimona! That is a very beautiful song 🙂

Leave a Reply

