Snow

Jerusalemites awoke this morning to a white dawn. Well, that’s what the radio newsreader said, any way. So I dragged myself out of my nice warm bed over to the window and looked out expectantly.

Duh???

Snow? What snow? Maybe it snowed in Gilo (one of the highest areas in Jerusalem),  but in my neck of the woods – gurnicht. Nada. Rien.

What I did have, however, was a small inundation on my balcony, caused by a blocked drainage pipe. A call to my insurance company elicited the information that this was not covered by my home insurance and the helpful suggestion that I get a plumber at my own expense. I eventually turned to the Deputy Chairman of the Residents’ Committee, who gave me the number of their plumber. Jacky (that was his name) happened to be in the neighbourhood, arrived in less than twenty minutes and promptly fixed the problem (at my expense) for a mere 300 shekels. Considering that the self-participation, if my insurance had covered it, would have been up to 530 shekels, I think I didn’t come out of it too badly.

However, while waiting for the plumber, Galina, my cleaning lady, noticed a damp patch on the ceiling outside the bathroom.
I called the owner of the upstairs apartment, who came to have a look, decided it wasn’t urgent and promised to take care of it if it’s still like that, on Monday 😦 .

Galina took a philosophical view. Yes, it’s all very inconvenient and annoying, but after all, nobody is sick. Nobody died.
Tfu, tfu, tfu 😉 .

I have decided to try and see it her way.

When I went down to the grocer’s to make a few last-minute purchases for Shabbat, it started snowing in earnest, and continued to do so on and off throughout the morning. The ground was so wet, however, due to the heavy rains over the past few days, that it hasn’t settled. It may snow more overnight. It’s certainly very, very cold – only 2 degrees Celsius during the day, dropping to zero at night.

I will leave you with Naomi Shemer’s song “Sheleg al Iri” (שלג על עירי – Snow Over My City), performed by Ruchama Raz, to a background of Jerusalem covered by a white blanket. Enjoy.

Shabbat Shalom to you all.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snow

  1. Katie isabella says:

    Oh how enjoyable to read this blog and to see that photo. Somehow I had the mistaken impression that it dud not snow there nor get very cold. As you wrote…”Duh!”
    Katie & mom

  2. shimona says:

    Yes, indeed, Miss Katie Isabella, many people – I mean, many kitties – are surprised to learn that we don’t have year-round sunshine here. In fact, there was even one year when it actually snowed almost as far south as Eilat. As Possum has discovered, the best thing to do when it gets really, really cold, is to snuggle up under the duvet and go to sleep – which is what he’s doing now. But tomorrow, I’ll let him know you dropped by. I’m sure he’ll be paying you a return visit 🙂

    Possum’s Mummy

Leave a comment