Jubilee

No – it’s not what you think! This is not a blog post dedicated to the Diamond Jubilee of Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II – although I wish her all the best! Today was supposed to be my first day of pre-retirement leave. I was supposed to be officially retiring on July 31st. However, when I went two weeks ago to fill out all the paperwork, I was astonished to discover that if I were to continue working till July 1st, 2013 (a mere eleven months!), I would be entitled to something called a “Jubilee Grant”. This is actually an extra (13th) salary paid annually to public servants after 25 or 30 years (depending on which salary scale you belong to) of service. In my case, I needed 30 years to be eligible for the grant. You would have thought I would be aware of how close I was to qualifying, but I actually had no idea, since no-one had thought to inform me that previous service in other branches of the public sector (not necessarily the Civil Service) are also taken into account, even when they don’t count for the purpose of calculating one’s pension. Thus, one receives 2% for every year of service in recognised branches of the Civil (ie. Government) Service, but service in a public institution such as the Hebrew University or the Jewish Agency is not taken into account. It does count, however, for the purpose of racking up the necessary seniority for the Jubilee Grant. Thus, instead of falling short of the required 30 years by five whole years,  I required only eleven months. Furthermore, if I could bring proof of a further seven months service in the Hebrew University, the number of missing months would drop to four!

You can be very sure that I dropped everything else and devoted all my time to obtaining the requisite authentication. As a result, I received notification on Thursday afternoon that my request to postpone my (in any case early) retirement by four months had been granted.

As I said – today I was supposed to be on leave already. Mentally, I was prepared for a day spent taking it easy. However, I now have to make another “switch” and prepare for a “normal” week – insofar as any week is “normal” in this job 😉 .
Neverthless, I’ve decided to take the day off today – as I have no courtroom appearances scheduled for this week – to recover from the mental stress I have been through during this period of waiting. And while I’m about it, I may as well remember that I was born British and celebrate that other Jubilee, with a cake that I’m about to bake and plenty of tea, drunk in a china cup (with milk, the way it’s supposed to be drunk – LOL), in honour of Her Majesty – God bless her.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Modern Living, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jubilee

  1. Congratulations!!!!!!

  2. Katie Isabella says:

    I know a delighted Possum will be happy that you are retired, and I wish I could join you for a cuppa. I like Earl Gray, hot please. Tea from Ceylon that has ben infused with real cherry essence is also much looked forward to. If you haven’t any, I still have some from a Russian grocery store not too far from where one of my sons live. 🙂 I’m up for company.

    Katie’s Mom

  3. Katie Isabella says:

    been…not ben. Apologies for the typo above.

  4. CATachresis says:

    Well done on sussing out the jubilee grant! I hope you enjoy your remaining four months.

    Being a Brit I am here watching the Thames pageant! And we have a two day bank holiday coming up :)) Nice!

Leave a comment