Music in the Desert

Bombarded as I am – as we all are – by news reports from all sides, I am often so angry, I burn to write and share my feelings with readers of this blog. For example, I promised to write about the criminal negligence of the Red Cross, who have made no effort to visit the kidnapped Israelis in Gaza and even refused to accept medications intended for some of them, going so far as to reprimand the families of the Israeli hostages for thinking about the wellbeing of their relatives, rather than that of the Palestinians!

And then there is the inexplicable silence for the first two months of the war, by international women’s groups, regarding the acts of mass rape and sexual violence against Israeli women and girls perpetrated by the Hamas and Islamic Jihad terrorists who attacked Israel on October 7th. Some even deny it happened. What happened to “Believe Women”? This refusal to address atrocities which were gleefully documented by the Hamas terrorist vermin themselves, while going so far as to attack the victims and accuse them of lying, can only stem from one thing – blatant antisemitism.

Sometimes the rage I feel threatens to overwhelm me. I have only one refuge – music. During the first few weeks of the war, I felt guilty about my choir continuing with “normal” activities – nor was I the only one. But gradually, we understood that one of the things we are fighting for is the right to live a normal life in this country, and that if we just put everything on hold, we are letting the terrorist vermin and their Iranian puppet-masters win. So we resumed rehearsals and I soon realised how necessary for my emotional and psychological wellbeing it was to be able to escape, for a few hours twice a week or so, the nightmare that threatens to engulf us.

Earlier this month, my choir took part in the annual Sounds of Music in the Desert Festival, at Kibbutz Sde Boker in the Negev. I mentioned this in one of my previous posts. At the time, I wondered who would come to a concert in the middle of the Negev Desert, with a war raging only about 70 kilometres away. But it seems that I am not the only person to understand the healing power of music. There was quite a sizeable audience, which included a considerable number of evacuees from towns and villages in the Gaza Envelope (the populated area within 7 kilometres of the Gaza border on the Israeli side), and the composer, Michael Wolpe, who is the founder and director of the Festival.

As I mentioned in my earlier post, we presented the first performance of a new work based on the poems of Rachel Bluwstein-Sela or, as she is known in Israel, simply Rachel the Poetess. Rachel wrote mainly short, intensely personal poems, but even when she is doing no more than sketch the landscape in a few brief lines, her love of the Land of Israel shines through and can bring the reader to tears. That was certainly the effect on many in the audience.

The concert was filmed and recorded, but I have no idea when the recording will be available. I made an audio recording of the finale at the first orchestra rehearsal (well, to be honest, the only orchestra rehearsal) the previous day, which I have, with much blood, sweat and tears, managed to turn into a video, whilst simultaneously attempting to learn the new Microsoft video editing software. For this reason, you can hear the soprano section much more strongly than the rest of the choir. I have also made my own, more literal translation of the words, as I was not completely satisfied by the translation I gave in my earlier post.

Enjoy!

To My Country

I did not sing for you, my country,
Nor did I praise your name
With heroic tales
Or with the spoils of battle.
One tree I planted with my own hands
By the Jordan’s quiet waters.
One narrow path to my feet yields,
Which runs across the fields.

Humble indeed –
I know it well, Mother –
Humble indeed
Is your daughter’s offering.
A cry of joy one glorious day,
When shines the sun in splendour;
And, shed for you, a secret tear
To see the poverty you bear.

About Shimona from the Palace

Born in London, the UK, I came on Aliyah in my teens and now live in Jerusalem, where I practice law. I am a firm believer in the words of Albert Schweitzer: "There are two means of refuge from the sorrows of this world - Music and Cats." To that, you can add Literature. To curl up on the sofa with a good book, a cat at one's feet and another one on one's lap, with a classical symphony or concerto in the background - what more can a person ask for?
This entry was posted in Daily Life, Music, News, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Music in the Desert

  1. Non illegitimum carborundum (faux latin for Don’t let the b*st*rds grind you down).
    Keep calm and carry on, or as that generation also called it, when facing a very similar enemy, the Blitz Spirit. So, well done you.

  2. thank you Shimona for sharing, the music and the poem are
    indeed amazing and beautiful, as is the simple sketch. the flowers
    ? maybe peony ( I can’t enlarge the movie ) are pretty🌸💐🌺
    is that your property looking out on the sea with the sunset ?
    be safe my friend 💙💚

    • No, the colour pictures are of the graveyard of Kvutzat Kinneret, on the banks of the Sea of Galilee (Lake Kinneret), where the poetess Rachel is buried. And that is actually a sunrise over the Sea of Galilee. The graveyard is on the western shore of the lake.

  3. lynnandprecious says:

    You have your miracle in music and singing. Do not let anyone take that away from you. The poem is quite lovely. I see in your comment that Poetess Rachel is now passed away. We have our New Year here soon, and I pray the year becomes safer for your life and country. Lynn

    • Thank you for your prayers and good wishes. Yes, Rachel died of TB in 1931, aged only 40. She didn’t live to see the establishment of the State of Israel. She was buried on the banks of the Kinneret, overlooking the landscape she loved best in all the world.

  4. Dalton,Benji aka Meezer’s Mews & Terrieristical Woofs says:

    Such beauty in music, poetry and nature. All woven together so well by you for us, Thank you.
    I agree, Music and ‘normalcy’ helps keep one sane in stressful times. And why let your enemies take that away?? They want to make you cower, but the indomitable spirit of you and your fellow citizens will never be quenched.
    Still praying much for you and your country in these horrific times.

    • Thank you for your prayers and good wishes. I am glad you enjoyed the video. I did my best, under the circumstances (poor audio, lack of familiarity with the updated software – don’t know why that was necessary, the old version was fine!)

Leave a comment